…F∆CES…

image

I think that after a while of experimentation I can come to a… Comprehensive conclusion..?

Recently, I’ve been intrigued by the human face… Not really superficially (well… Kind of) but really more of the perceptive psychology… I have a theory that we are not inclined to see a face or perceive it but to actually read it, just as we would a note or a book…

The mechanics of this stem from early engagement and development of the mind of a child… Supple… Absorbant… We have been taught (in western languages and cultures) to read a page from left to right and not from the middle going outwards… The focal point now would become the right side of your face scanning to the left…

When we look in the mirror, we only perceive the reflection of the face and not the general perception… To investigate this further, I went to my mother’s bathroom… There are two mirrors almost perpendicular to each other that sway to reflect a reflection… In the first mirror, directly facing me, I can see myself… In the second mirror , I approach at about 52cm with a perceptive angle of 45° to the next mirror and perceive myself as the ‘real’ or perceptive reflection which you cannot gaze into the eyes of… Meaning that is how I really look… I looked awfully lopsided and very different , because, my entire life I’ve only gazed at a reflection  which I am reading the opposite way to ‘normal’ so… Now I saw my ‘true self’… This could be explained with the ‘selfie reflection’…

When you take a front camera photo of yourself you perceive an ideal picture as if its a mirror but after you take the photo, your phone probably reverses the picture on the y-axis to portray the real photo… Open the photo and it doesn’t look too ideal anymore because you are now subconsciously reading it the opposite way now..
eg.:

image

(Mind my over–posing 😅😅 please)
So… What the mind initially takes note of is the left side of the face… From the scruff of the hair to the tint of the eye , the eyebrow, lip, neckline and general fullness… But, this would only be the ‘ideal image’ the fullness created by the left side… Let’s have another look…

image

Now this would be the actual picture… The actual perception… You initially, subconsciously take note of the emptiness  and lack of hair on this ‘left’ side, the curl of it at the bottom, the protrusion of the forehead, the empty space and the awkward positioning… The dark light, the shade, the ridges and the pinched eye… All not really ideal… It all gives the picture a different look… Different feel…

I’m pretty sure that my face though doesn’t completely give the serious comparitive differences due to the fact that I’m the only one perceiving it daily… I’ll use a more well-known face to give colour to this image… Or rather no colour at all…

image

The Frank Sinatra Mugshot.
Frank Sinatra has a face with two very different halves… I want you to focus on the picture on the left for a bit…

image

source :1

A read of the face shows a slightly nervous left side and a very stiff right… The right is not so evident though as we read his face…

image

source:2

But…

When the picture is reversed, we see almost a subtle anger on the left side with a read showing us that the right is rather loose and lopsided… What gives this away…

It seems that when we read a face, we set the general standard based on the first bits we see and when we analyse the waves after the initial analysis we come to a conclusion of attractiveness…

Does that mean now that we must pay more attention to the left side of our face to set a higher standard or set low standards followed by a bright after shock to allow the world to embrace our ‘beauty’ more… Which is it and how does it tie into our personal psychological traits…

As a cynic, I set myself up for the worst which should mean I should appreciate the first picture with the tire being on the left… But I’m usually only amused by first impressions and grow to dislike later… Which is it then….

What if there were no need for predilection though…

image

With a bit of help from a photo editor and some layering, you now gaze upon an image of perfect symmetry… But, Frank Sinatra now has turned into Channing Tatum and he’s lost his face…

How dearly do we hold to this false perfection and symmetry… We all read faces but do we take in the divine design, the beautiful convolution and the brilliant imperfection… I mean, for long now, I’ve thought my face to be reversed… Like I’ve been born the wrong way around, a backwards face… Maybe I was born with it the right way… I don’t know, maybe its all just a guess…

Tiger, tiger, burning bright 
In the forests of the night, 
What immortal hand or eye 
Dare frame thy fearful symmetry?
-William Blake

Symmetry is overrated…

5 thoughts on “…F∆CES…

Leave a Reply

